Can you recommend me Historical fiction books?

Hopefully this is the right place to ask as there were not many other threads in relation to this.

I really like history. I am going to read some non-fiction books (that can be interesting), but I have a feeling that Historical fictionbooks are more fun and gripping? More of a 'cant put it down' book collection as opposed to non-fiction (although I am most likely wrong). There are so many historical fiction books out there that look great (lots of reviews), such as 'Wars of the Roses' by Conn Iggulden, ones by Bernard Cornwell (more medieval). How does one find the great books to read, that are set in different eras? I have no knowledge of the good ones, so is there a list I can be recommended to read as I am new to this genre.

Thanks you,! :)

Costa

Now that I come to think of it I have read two books that are classed as fiction because not everything in them is fact.  I'll explain.  This Thing of Darkness by Harry Thompson is classed as fiction because the author could not bear to write about what really happened to one of the men in the book.  The rest of it - people, places what happened - is absolutely true.  It's about Robert Fitzroy and Charles Darwin and their voyage on the Beagle and how Darwin came to formulate the Theory of Evolution.  The other one is Das Boot by Lothar Gunther Buchheim which is a true account of what happened on board a German u-boat during the second world war.  This is classed as fiction because the people written about did not exist but everything else was true.

I've read them both and they are very good indeed.

I wonder if those might interest you, Costa?

It really depends what you love most...and how much fiction you want.

Umberto Eco, The Name of the Rose

historical murder mystery set in a 14th century Italian Monastery.