How hard are you willing to work when reading a book?

Or-How hard do you think you should have to work to read a book? Or, how much responsibility does an author have to their readers to make things intelligible? Do you like symbolism for its own sake, or does it need to flow organically from the story and the characters themselves? Obviously there are no right or wrong answers here.

Edited by Dan

I am not really willing to work that hard, I hate to admit.  I have very much enjoyed certain "difficult" books, but not as a steady diet.  And I've certainly stopped reading other books because the effort to enjoyment ratio was too high.  As I have admitted more than once, I'm not good at noticing symbolism and I'm not good at figuring out what it means if there is some.  

I am not really willing to work that hard, I hate to admit.  I have very much enjoyed certain "difficult" books, but not as a steady diet.  And I've certainly stopped reading other books because the effort to enjoyment ratio was too high.  As I have admitted more than once, I'm not good at noticing symbolism and I'm not good at figuring out what it means if there is some.

I seldom actually notice symbolism as I'm reading. If the book is intriguing enough that I think about it when I'm not reading I will periodically realize that something was symbolic. But then I'm usually left wondering whether I interpreted the symbolism as the author intended. Although I usually conclude that, since I can't know what the author intended, then my interpretation is correct, for me.

Or-How hard do you think you should have to work to read a book? Or, how much responsibility does an author have to their readers to make things intelligible? Do you like symbolism for its own sake, or does it need to flow organically from the story and the characters themselves? Obviously there are no right or wrong answers here.