Sign in to follow this  
Hazel

Knitting

Right, I have been teaching myself to knit and have been knitting a long scarf - this is my first effort, and I think I have cocked up. I knitted right to the end of the wool instead of leaving a length to cast off. Now, if I take apart the last few rows to get a length then I lose my stitches and can't then cast off. How on earth do I fix this?

megustaleer - I am looking at you...

You laugh...but I considered tying on another bit to finish, but I don't have any of the same wool - it's lilac tweed and the only other wool I have in the house is dark turquoise.

Now we all know that Meg is the expert knitter here, as well as others I have probably forgotten about.  However, I have some experience of knitting over the years.

Hazel, I am assuming that by saying if you 'take apart the last few rows' you mean taking all the stitches off one of the needles and just unravelling it.  I think what you need to do is undo the last row one stitch at a time.  That way you will keep stitches on the needle all the time.  Then when you think after one row or two you have enough thread to cast off, you just do that.

If this does not make sense, have you tried looking up YouTube for instructional videos?  I have found some great techniques there.

Good luck!  And welcome to the world of knitting.

Hi Hazel, so glad to hear that you're learning to knit, it's a brilliant thing to do.  Sign up to Ravelry and dive in to an alternative universe!

But first, Google "youtube how to tink" and watch one of the videos - tinking is knitting backwards (see what they did  there?!) which as Barblue says is the best thing to do.  Ripping your knitting out is much more risky, it's worth taking the time for a couple of rows.

Hope you enjoy your finished scarf.

Hazel, so sorry that I haven't been around to help you with your dilemma.