Sign in to follow this  
Minxminnie

Anonymity

I have taken a lot of interest in the recent furore over online abuse and cyberbullying, given my job (I'm a teacher).

I have noticed that many commentators are saying that part of the solution is not to allow people to "hide" behind pseudonyms, and force them to put their real name to their comments.

Obviously, BGO is a kind and supportive place, but many of us do use pseudonyms, and, as far as I know, none of use our full names.

I just wondered how we feel about this. Is there a need to be anonymous, or is there a benefit to it? If you were obliged to post using your full name, would it change anything?

I think it would. I sometimes post experiences which would reveal personal details about other people if my name was there: for example, my recent comment about one of my pupils who experienced depression. But maybe I just wouldn't post those things. I have a gut feeling that I like being anonymous, even for ordinary book posts, but I can't figure out quite why.

Don't think it would bother me not being anonymous as I'm sure anyone who is on facebook knows who I am already and I don't think there is another Ontarian on this forum, however, I guess other people can have a look on the forum without joining - is that the case?

As momac says, some of us who have been using BGO on Facebook now know some members names.  For me that has been an interesting experience - knowing people's real names.  Personally, I don't have a problem using my name rather than a user name - in fact at times I wish I had not chosen my user name.  However, I can see that it might temper some comments, such as the one you mention Minxminnie.  Having said all that, I am happy wish what we currently have anyway.