Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
youthman

What to read after Ian Flemings James Bonds?

Recommended Posts

I have just finished all all the James Bond books including Devil May Care, i would have happily gone on reading them.

Can anyone suggest any other books or authors like the James Bond books?

I liked the fact that they were fast paced, easy to read, action packed and dealt with exotic/foreign countries.

I would appreciate any suggestions. Thanks

:D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've never read any of the James Bond stuff but I've seen the films. What about anything written by Robert Ludlum - e.g. The Bourne Identity?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Or Len Deighton? I really enjoyed those books, especially the ones that were in a series--Game, Set, Match was one of the series, I think.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I have just finished all all the James Bond books including Devil May Care, i would have happily gone on reading them.

Can anyone suggest any other books or authors like the James Bond books?

I liked the fact that they were fast paced, easy to read, action packed and dealt with exotic/foreign countries.

I would appreciate any suggestions. Thanks

:D

Desmond Bagley is a brilliant crime writer he really knows his stuff and is spot on with plot twists, crazy scenes and the hero coming up trumps . He's smooth but not cheesy and all of his novels are really exciting with foreign locations and brilliant characters . See if you like him and let me know good luck .

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Desmond Bagley is a brilliant crime writer he really knows his stuff and is spot on with plot twists, crazy scenes and the hero coming up trumps . He's smooth but not cheesy and all of his novels are really exciting with foreign locations and brilliant characters . See if you like him and let me know good luck .

 

I'd fogotten all about his books. Used to read him years (and years) ago.

 

And enjoyed them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My OH is not a huge fiction fan but loved the bonds, I've been watching this thread with some interest as I'd love to give him a gift of something on a similar theme. What would you say is the best Deighton and Bagley's?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

bobblington: My favorites are the Bernard Samson books. He makes a brief appearance in Winter, which I remember liking, although it was written after the main books and so I had to read out of order. But I would probably start there.

 

The main books are 9 books that are essentially three trilogies set in the years 1983-1988 (there's a gap between '84 and '87--I'm cribbing from a summary website):

 

Game, Set, Match: Berlin Game, Mexico Set, and London Match

 

Hook, Line, Sinker: Spy Hook, Spy Line, Spy Sinker

 

Faith, Hope, and Charity (no alternative names).

 

youthman: I haven't read the Robert Ludlum "Bourne" books, but they have a devoted following and were made into pretty good movies.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×