Educating Peter - What's Next?

Claire

So, Top Cat - we've all read Educating Peter, (and the vast majority of us have loved it, is the impression I get!) and you've told us about "Nice Jumper" - but where do you go from here? Are you planning another book along the same sort of lines, or are you going to branch out in a new direction entirely?

(Anyone like to offer any suggestions, or wise career advice :eek::D )

Weeeeelllll.... I've been dithering for a couple of years and getting a bit wrapped up in my journalism, but I've just sold a collection of (extended versions of) my Lost Tribes Of Pop columns from The Observer - pop stereotypes that can be sampled here http://observer.guardian.co.uk/omm/losttribes/archive - which will be published next spring. I'm also working on some fiction - it's a totally new area for me, and is quite different from EP and NJ in style. A bit darker and (obviously) more narrative-based. I won't say too much about the theme, but it's very much "British rural dream gone wrong". Have no idea about when (or if?!) it will be published, but it's very satisfying, and i'm enjoying it massively when I get the chance to work on it, between the stuff that pays the mortgage. My dilemma is whether to send it to a publisher before it's done or wait. Working without knowing there's a pay cheque at the end is a bit of a double-edged sword: it's quite hard to discipline yourself, but when it's going well, it tends to make you feel more loose and free in what you're doing.

I was wondering very vaguely about whether to ask Bill about serialising it on BGO, but probably not a good idea at the moment, as I'm one of those writers who tends to go back and fiddle with stuff quite a bit.

And, yes, all suggestions appreciated!!