Sign in to follow this  
Minxminnie

Learning to read

The thread on "what started you reading for pleasure" has started me thinking about how we learn to read, and I'd be interested in people's experiences.

I'm a secondary English teacher, so I have a professional interest in how we learn, but, frankly, little expertise in imparting the skills. I don't have kids, but I love noticing how children of family and friends learn. What fascinates me is how it seems to vary wildly and have little to do with the classroom.

Several kids I know have picked up reading without their parents even realising. One day, they could just do it. I know one who had read Harry Potter before he went to school, but he was a bit of a natural progidy!

Others, from equally supportive homes, have learned to read at school, bit by bit in a way that probably makes their teachers' lives very easy!

My 3yo niece gets a lot of letter work at nursery, and we suspect that she's picking up reading. She can "read" things like a birthday card, where the content is probably very predictable.

Does anyone have any experience or knowledge of what makes us learn? What were you like, or your kids? Does it matter? Does independence in picking up the skill relate to skill or enjoyment as an older reader?

I suspect skill and enjoyment go hand in hand.

I've certainly no expertise in how people learn, but have noticed that even people who can't read know that the big golden arches outside Macdonalds = M.

I'm told that people's learning skills depend on whether they have visual, auditory or kinesthetic styles.

Great thread MM. Will be interested to read others views with more experience in this field.

Well, I was just expected to read so I did.

My mother also just expected me to understand the King James Version of the Bible, although she never did make me read it (I still haven't).