Sign in to follow this  

Hi. I am kind of new to the whole sci-fi genre, and was wondering if there are any books you could suggest based upon ones I have read and enjoyed!

Sci-Fi books I have liked:

Dune (my favourite book of all time), and all of Frank Herbert's other novels;

Hothouse by Brian Aldiss;

The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy;

Star Maker by Olaf Stapledon.

These are all the science fiction books that I have ever read, and am wondering if there are any you can recommend based upon this list.

Thanks,

Sasha.

I am not a fan of sci-fi but I do have 3 on the shelves that have been recommended on BGO over the years: Do Androids Dream Of Electrical Sheep by Philip K Dick, Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury, and Flowers for Algernon by Daniel...somebody...Keyes? Grammath is the man to ask re Philip K Dick recommendations though.

I am not a fan of sci-fi but I do have 3 on the shelves that have been recommended on BGO over the years: Do Androids Dream Of Electrical Sheep by Philip K Dick, Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury, and Flowers for Algernon by Daniel...somebody...Keyes? Grammath is the man to ask re Philip K Dick recommendations though.

Wow, thanks for the speedy response. I shall have to look into those. Oooh, that Philip K. Dick one, I think I have that in eBook form somewhere. Shall have to wait for my eSlick to arrive though.

As you mention you're not the biggest Sci-Fi fan... could I ask maybe about non sci-fi books that might be similar? :P Or would that not be allowed in this forum?

As you mention you're not the biggest Sci-Fi fan... could I ask maybe about non sci-fi books that might be similar? :P Or would that not be allowed in this forum?

:D I haven't read any of the books/authors that you mention other than Hitchhiker...so it is impossible for me to recommend books that you may like! Don't worry though, other members will pop on and help out!