Sign in to follow this  
Flingo

Some thoughts about The Crimson Petal and the White

Rescued Thread

chuntzy 19th December 2006, 04:39 PM

As I'm not very good at literary criticism I'll make the following brief points about this novel:-

(1) that I finished a 800 page novel in two weeks means that I enjoyed it and it was a page turner
(2) I liked how the author subverted some of the conventions of Victorian novels and involved the reader in this strategy: just one example (as I expect I mustn't spoil things) - the governess isn't a harridan and uncaring
(3) the author obviously did a lot of thorough research into the period
(4) I don't think Faber quite knew what to 'do' with Agnes, especially near the end
(5) Wondered if Dickens, Thackeray, Trollope et al would have liked to write about sex as graphically as here if they'd had had the chance

Vicky 21st December 2006, 12:13 PM
Chuntzy,

1)I started reading this book three days ago and as such haven’t had a decent nights sleep until it was finished. It was one of those books that I couldn’t put down even when I knew that it meant going to work the next day after only five hours sleep

2)I also liked the way Faber managed to add in a good blend of characters and didn’t just stand by stereotypes. Although saying that I can’t think of many strong male characters.

3)The research was very thorough and that added to my interest immensely, but then I am a history freak. Incidental details that were thrown in but not overlaboured (ie. how was Sugar to know that only a whore would order extra cream) made this book very engaging.

4)Agnes was a pretty strange figure overall, I’m certainly not sure what I’d have done with her! I think when a character is there to serve a purpose a satisfying conclusion is hard to find, I expect that is why it is left open for interpretation.