Flingo

The Yellow Wallpaper

Rescued Thread

Flingo 26th June 2006 10:16 PM

The Yellow Wallpaper - Charlotte Perkins Gilman

Last week I felt a sudden urge to reread Charlotte Perkins Gilmore's The Yellow Wallpaper. I studied it for my A level English Lit, and we did a lot of extensive analysis (most of which I have forgotten), alongside comparison to Sylvia Plath's The Bell Jar.

It was fascinating to reread it on it's own, although I do now really want to reread The Bell Jar too!

Yellow Wallpaper is a novella written in diary form. The narrator (whose name we do not learn) relates the story of her struggle against post natal depression, and the attitudes taken against her by society - particularly her husband John who is a doctor "and does not believe I am sick".

Although only 25 pages, there is so much emotion and the diary style is incredibly powerful. I was amazed by how much I could relate from memory nearly 9 years after I read it first.

Small but perfectly formed.

While I cannot find any summary / review online, the whole text is easily available from a number of pages to read online if you are interested.

Hazel 27th June 2006 07:45 AM

I studied this story a couple of years ago, and yes it is laden with heavy symbolism, but on the surface it is still a great short story. CPG suffered from post-natal depression herself and a famous doctor at the time had told her to stop writing as it wasn't conducive to recovery, hence the story and the protagonist being told to stop writing. After the story was published the famous doctor apologised for his treatment and resolved to change the way he treated post natal depression.

What I particularly like about the story is that though she begins perfectly sane, the treatment she is subjected to drives her mad, and the writing clearly captures her descent. The imagery, her snatches of writing, and the dialogues with her husband descend into madness along with her mind.