Sign in to follow this  
cjstevens8

New guy discusses his favs...

Hey there bookworms,

Im 22 and currently reading a book published in about '67 called

'The Tattooed Rood', only about 40 pages in but very cool well written and exciting so far. Anyone else ever read this??

Okay another of my favourite books of all time is The Fog by James Herbert, probably one of my favourite authors ever, anyone else enjoy his stuff??

Im not a compete cultural loser, I have read 'Frankensten' and think this is one of the greatest novels of all time, and I studied English and American lit at Uni finding a special fondness for Fitzgerald 'The Great Gatsby' and also Faulkner 'Light in August' very very good book.

Anyway, I am currently embarking on a quest to read the Observer top 100 novels ever, starting with Don Quiote. Any one ever read this? Good?

So anyhoo, modern books...I am a very big Elmore Leanord fan and am also going to try and read my first ever B.E Ellis book soon, anyone got any comments?? Recommendations based on what I have already mentioned.

Thanks people,

CJ :D

So anyhoo, modern books...I am a very big Elmore Leanord fan and am also going to try and read my first ever B.E Ellis book soon, anyone got any comments?? Recommendations based on what I have already mentioned.

Thanks people,

Hmmm, not Glamourama - I hated that book and it put me off Ellis for life. I used to really like his stuff though and even queued to meet him at a reading. Rules of Attraction is fab, but you can't beat American Psycho, though sometimes I have to hide that book it scares me so.

These lot are a real talkative bunch aren't they?
You've just got to catch us when we're all here!

Re: your favourite books.

I agree about Frankenstein. Disagree about Gatsby. Don Quixote is on my Amazon Wish List. I haven't read any of the others.