Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'Susan Hill'.

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • THE BOARD ROOM
    • Welcome to BGO!
    • Board Business
    • Site News & Support
  • GENERAL FICTION
    • Central Library
    • 21st-Century Fiction
    • 20th-Century Fiction
    • Pre-1900 Fiction
    • Poetry and Drama
    • Writers' Corner
  • FICTION GENRES
    • Crime, Thrillers & Mystery
    • Fantasy & Myth
    • Historical & Romance
    • Horror
    • Science Fiction, Graphic Novels & Manga
  • NON-FICTION
    • Arts & Media
    • Biography & Autobiography
    • Food & Drink
    • History, Politics & Beliefs
    • Homelife & Lifestyle
    • Life, The Universe & Everything
    • Reference & Humour
    • Sport
    • Travel
  • CHILDREN & YOUNG ADULTS
    • Children & Young Adults - General Discussion
    • Read To
    • Read With
    • Read Alone
    • Read On
  • BGO GROUP READS
    • BGO Book Group Meeting Point
    • The Dead - James Joyce
    • Wuthering Heights - Emily Brontë
    • Me Talk Pretty One Day - David Sedaris
    • Things Snowball - Rich Hall
    • Food
    • Crossing to Safety - Wallace Stegner
    • Book Group Archive
  • ANYTHING BUT BOOKS
    • General Chat
    • Films, Television & Radio
    • Music & Culture
    • Language & Learning
    • Games, Quizzes & Links
  • SUBSCRIBERS' AREA
    • Subscribers' Offers
  • Sherlock Holmes

Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


AIM


MSN


Website URL


ICQ


Yahoo


Jabber


Skype


Location


Interests


Current Book


Biography


Location


Interests


How did you hear about this site?

Found 18 results

  1. Susan Hill continues her series of little ghost/horror stories with Printer's Devil Court. This outing is about body snatching, bringing the dead to life - the stuff of Burke and Hare and for more cinematic consumers, Flatliners. 3 medical students make a pact to bring a body back to life however rather than re-animating a corpse they fuse a dead man with a recently passed yonger body. Usually I am a fan of Susan Hill - I love her previous scary books, notably The Woman in White which has taken on a life of its own, and her straight family dramas - but this book is devoid of life, much lik
  2. This is the latest, as far as I know, in the Simon Serrailler series by Susan Hill. As is usual for this series the book is as much about the family of Simon Serrailler and happenings in Lafferton, the town in which it is set, as it is about any of the crimes described. Again if you are looking for a hard hitting police story with descriptions of how crime is solved this book is probably not for you. As with other books in this series I found Cat, Simon's doctor sister, to be the most likeable character. Simon himself often does not appear that much and when he does I have always found
  3. The Woman in Black has been a long-running play in the West-end, so when I was obliged to read the novel (set as a GCSE text, naturally, as is becoming a tradition with this author's cross-over fiction) I was more than a little curious. I had read other Susan Hill novels with pleasure, always captured by her ability to sustain a mysterious atmosphere and reminded of what simple prose can achieve, for she is mistress of the telling simple description, like, here:Mrs Daily was a quiet, shy-seeming, powdery-looking little woman, even more ill-at ease in her surroundings than he. (Mr Daily, her h
  4. A Question of Identity is another in Susan Hill's Simon Serrailler crime series. The same set of characters, namely Simon and his extended family and a few other members of the police force for which Simon works, reappear once again. For me the books have always been as much about the happenings within Simon's family as the crimes the books portray and A Question of Identity is no exception. I know that other readers find the lack of hard crime writing a bit of a let down in the books but have found that this does not bother me. In fact I found the crime element within this particular
  5. Recently finished this, the sixth in the Serrailler detective series, and just started to find myself thinking that things were beginning to weaken. I've enjoyed the series up until now, and while I'm not saying that this book has completely turned me off it, this seemed to me to be the weakest so far. The crime itself, and its eventual conclusion, was, I felt, a bit lame which didn't help but for me the weakness of the book was primarily when Serrailler encountered a certain Rachel Wyatt, and from then on it all felt like it was descending into Mills and Boon territory. Now I must point
  6. http://www.bookgrouponline.com/tags/forums/Susan+Hill/ edit: The above link is no longer working The threads from the forums. NB: not all the books listed are in the forum above: most are, but some are in general fiction etc .
  7. Looking for an audiobook in the library I spotted this by Susan Hill, and took it out without a second glance - and so hadn't noticed it was one of the Simon Serrailler series. I'm a bit cross with myself, as I would have preferred to start with the first in the series. This is the hunt for the serial killer of prostitutes in the cathedral town where Serrailler lives (although he is away on leave for the first few chapters). It brought to mind the almost local case in 2008 of the girls killed in Ipswich - and presumably it was the starting point for this novel in Susan Hill's mind, as it w
  8. I have just finished this book today. It is the first book of a series concerning a detective chief inspector called Simon Serrailler and his group of detectives. It is the story of an unusual serial killer. There are a number of narrators which I found a little difficult to get on with to start with as I would just get used to one narrator and the author would change to another. Once I got used to each narrator and their part in the story I found it easier to read. The book was very detailed and in some ways a little slow going. However it did build to an unforseen climax. I have read a fair
  9. I am just about to start this novel, the fourth in the Simon Serrailler series. Hopefully it will be as good as the previous three although I doubt that the main character will be anymore approachable than in the previous novels!
  10. This is the third in Susan Hill's series of books featuring Simon Serrailler, a Chief Inspector in Lafferton, England. The previous two books are The Various Haunts of Men and The Pure in Heart. Unusually, I have managed to read these books in order. I'm not very good about reviewing the mysteries that I read, probably because I whip through them fairly quickly. In any event, I did not review the first two even though I read them fairly recently. Maybe I will go back and do that, but probably not. In any event, by this third book, we've come to know Serrailler, his family, and his co-
  11. I have literally just started reading this book today. It is the second in Susan Hill's series about Detective Chief Inspector Simon Serailler. Although when reading The Various Haunts of Men, the first in the series, I was not terribly keen on Simon Serailler I enjoyed the book enough and the way in which it was written to continue with the series. Having only read the first chapter or two of the book I cannot say whether or not the Chief Inspector will improve with time. However, Susan Hill's style of writing is very readable and I am sure that I will soon be as drawn into this story
  12. The latest from Susan Hill, The Small Hand, is another creepy book in the vein of The Woman in Black and The Man In The Picture. Hill does the 'young, vulnerable, emotional male in suoernatural tale' very well and I hope she continues to enthrall us with these types of tale for quite some time. Adam is a antiquarian book dealer and loves. He has a very wealthy client, one that he treasures because this client loves the books he receives as books and not just status items. One journey down to meet his client, Adam gets lost and is pulled towards a derelict house, The White House, deep in a
  13. I usually enjoy Susan Hill's novels, but found this one began to pall around halfway, so did not finish it, which I slightly regret for she's one of my favourite authors. It has a sort of Virginia Woolf feel about it, which I quite likes to begin with - you know, the flipping in and out of different consciousnesses and the lack of conventional narrative. Her prose has always inclined to the eccentric, with commas instead of full stops and so many one-word sentences, paragraphs beginning haphazardly as the whim takes the author, even several one-word paragraphs. The novel ends with a que
  14. As the author states, it is not an autobiography in the usual sense but it is a record of more than just of what she has read. Looking for a book on a certain shelf and failing to find it, leads her to her other shelves and the realisation of the many books there that she hasn't yet opened, or that have been read but forgotten and those that should be re-read. She forgoes buying books for a year in order to catch up. I found it an interesting read particularly because of the recognition factor - agreeing with her about certain 'classics' that do nothing for her (and for me), her bein
  15. I love Susan Hill's work, apart from the Simon Serrailler crime series, all of her novels are extremely well-written and damn good yarns. So, I picked up the teeny hardback of this book without a moment's doubt. It was especially exciting to see her back in the realm of the supernatural, especially after a long break away. I will try my best to sum up this novel(la) without spoiling any of it, but it might be difficult! Oliver is a previous student of Professor Theo Parmitter's at Cambridge. While he is visiting Theo, he spots a curious oil-painting of a Venetian carnival/masked ball scene
  16. 'The Beacon' is a remote farmstead where various members and generations of the Prime family have "fallen out that way". The present generation of Prime children: May, Colin, Frank, and the exotically named Berenice, are all grown-up with their own lives. Through May, the most promising and therefore most tragic of the siblings, a potted family history of loss, frustration, disappointment and entrapment is told. However, hovering over most of the book, are ominous mentions of Frank, the odd child of the bunch, malevolent, silent, watching. The reader discovers that the siblings don't men
  17. Of the four books I have read by Susan Hill, three have been classified on the Fantastic Fiction website as “Children’s Novels” I have enjoyed them very much, but while there is a certain old-fashioned and naive style to the writing, I just can’t see them as books for children at all. This first came up when discussing I'm The King Of The Castle, back in '06, and the thread now resides in Novels of The 20th Century, rather than here in the CYA forum Gentlemen And Ladies is a gently moving book about a group of people of late-middle to advanced old- age, the events that connect the
  18. Restored Thread megustaleer 15th April 2006 05:31 PM In spite of it's inclusion in the exam syllabus, I've never thought of I'm The King Of The Castle as a children's/young adult's book, probably because I didn't read it until I was an adult. It's 14 years since I first read it. My two sons were school-aged, and all the members of my bookgroup were parents of children of similar age to mine (I can't remember the ages of Hooper and Kingshaw). My elder son had been bullied (successfully dealt with by the school), and the other I worried might be a bully (not, apparently, just very p
×
×
  • Create New...