Viccie

Subscribers
  • Content count

    1,317
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Viccie

  • Rank
    Subscriber

core_pfieldgroups_99

  • Location
    Bordeaux
  • Interests
    reading, writing, wine, dawdling around
  • How did you hear about this site?
    Sunday Times article

Profile Information

  • Gender
  • Location
    Bordeaux
  1. The Ghost at the Table - Suzanne Berne
  2. Fredrik Backman

    So they followed the book quite closely. That uses a lot of flashbacks too in a very effective way to show how Ove has become the person he is now. My husband is reading it now and is completely absorbed.
  3. Good I'm glad to hear that becuse I read a really excoriating review of Eligible (admittedly in Private Eye) that rather put me off as I fancied reading it. I tried Northanger Abbey too and only got about 50 pages in.
  4. Fredrik Backman

    I had no idea that there was a movie; It would be be quite hard to put on the screen I would think.
  5. The Hundred Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of a Window and Disappeared - Jonas Jonasson
  6. Ove has been a grumpy old man since he was ten. He's prejudiced, set in his ways, sees nothing good in the world any longer, argues wth shop assstants, has to tst the handle of locked doors three times to make sure that they're really locked and quarrels with his nieghbours. And since hs wife, who brought colour into his black and wife world, died he doesn't see any point in going on. But things don't quite go the way Ove plans. Repeatedly. Ove's real charecter is gradually revealed throughout the book, rather like skins being stripped off an onion, and the reader cmes to see what made him what he is - and that some of his prejudices are nothing like so absolute or unreasonable as we first think, but Backman never gives into the temptation to turn Ove into a charmer, he stays grumpy right to the end, albeit endearingly so I nearly didn't bother to read this book because of the front cover blurb 'ideal for fans of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry (which I heartily disliked) and Us by David Nicholl (which bored me so much I almost didn't finish)' but after struggling with the first two chapters which are rather slow going I absolutely loved it. Yes it's full of sterotypes, yes it's blatently feel good and even corny in places but it's also very funny, moving, wry and very well translated. In some ways it reminded me of Benny and Shrimp by Katerina Mazzetti, another Swedish offbeat little gem, which had a similar loony charm. It won't be for everyone but I still strongly recommend it. O
  7. Lonesome Dove - Larry McMurtry
  8. A Man Called Ove by Frederik Backman. Light and whimsical, a good book to read when you're in a heatwave-fuelled torpor.
  9. The Time Traveller's Wife - Audrey Niffeneger
  10. At least we have a bit of breeze today, albeit a warm one.It's a great improvement on the last few days where it's been 35° or 36° and has still been 30° at midnight and not even a faint waft of movement in the air. Even the pool has been at 31° which is not that far off bath temperature! It's getting cool tomorrow, a high of 27° and it might drop below 20° at night. That will be really nice!
  11. His earlier books like The Pelican Brief were decent page turners and we read one about growing up in the cotton fields for the book club which was surprisigly different and enjoyable. This one though...
  12. The Last Letter from your Lover - Jojo Moyes
  13. I used to enjoy the occasional Grisham some time ago, then found they got a bit samey so lost all interest. My husband picked this up at a book sale and passed it on - I thought with his reccommendation. What a load of codswallop it is. Grisham's writing is slick and smooth but that's as far as it gets. The plotline is utterly unbelievable, it's hard to get engaged with the charecters, there's practically no tension because the main character is always one step ahead and it just sort of peters out so there's no satisfyng conclusion. I was about to start questioning my husband's intelligence then he said he though it was a load of tosh too and only passed it on to me to see what I thought.
  14. Keir Alexander

    I find myself enjoying this book more and more in retrospect. I was completely absorbed in it while I was reading it - though I did get a little irritated over Sibbohan's mobile phone. In my experience (having survived three 14 year olds) they do not let an adult go anywhere near their phones. However it was a very good read, beautifully written as Mr HG said, but while I was so deep in it I didn't appreiate how well balanced it is or how refreshingly un-syrupy.
  15. Death on the Nile - Agatha Christie